#169261  by wabisabied

Anybody try these? I’m looking to clean up a blackfaced mid-70s Twin Reverb. Already replaced a pair of Eminence 121042s with a pair of Cannabis Rex, which is an improvement but still not as clean as I want. I was looking the EVM-12L, but not stoked on its weight of 18+ lbs. Then I saw the Copperback, at only 5.5 lbs and great reviews. I guess I just want to know if there are any downsides to them, based on first-hand experience.

I figure I’ll start with one of whatever I choose, pair it with one of the CRs, see what that mix of tone gets me, and try the other CR in my DRRI, which currently has a stock C12K in it.

Any insights and/or other suggestions appreciated. I’m really new to the speaker swap game. Main objective is to smooth out my tone and get more sparkle on the high end.
 #169263  by Jon S.

This is the speaker Victory Amps uses in its 1X12 neo cab. https://www.victoryamps.com/cabinets

This might be useful to you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rE7X0jJ ... e=emb_logo

A friend on TGP had this to say about the speaker: "Speculation early on was the Copperback was Celestion's take on an EV12L but with a lightweight neodymium magnet and with Celestion guitar speaker mojo. Some compared the frequency plot to the EV12L, and Celestion's blurb seems to imply this. If that were the case the Copperback should fit in EV12L applications."
 #169267  by wabisabied

Thanks, @Jon S. I saw a ghost of your previous query about these when I searched the forum, but the thread is gone. Seems the assessment from your friend at TGP is pretty much what I’ve read elsewhere. It’d be reassuring to hear the same thing from someone who’s used them.

The shootout video is appreciated too, thanks, but seems more useful to high-gain aficionados, most of whom seem to prefer the V30.