#5523  by chuckpolzin

hey guys i was just wondering how bobs riff in this as seen on the tab page fits into the mixolydian mode in G, i am a newbie to this mode stuff and for all the various patterns i have found in that position nothing even includes the 11th fret as a possible note location,

i know these riffs dont always have to fit exactly but for some reason it sounds basic and logical enough to fit,

I would just like some insight into how this riff could fit a pattern, because as a beginner I am trying to work within patterns only to understand the fundamental notes before i can learn how to take notes that arent always found in a scale etc,

any clarification on why this riff is mixolydian in nature etc would be awesome, or any images of the fret board or mode pattern that shows how this riff fits would be great, thank you

#5532  by sarraqum

Mixolydian G is quite simple really, it only uses major notes in this order:

G A B C D E F G

A little insight into the whole scale thing, half steps and full steps. Full steps appear after notes G, A, C, D and E. Its basically sharp and flat notes. Half Steps appear after notes B and E, these are notes that don't have sharps. If that makes sense read on, if not go to the next paragraph.....Half steps are more or less what creates a scale. With mixolydian scale half steps appear after 3rd and 6th notes and thats how those patterns are created. So to play mixolydian G scale in second position, i.e, starting from G on 3rd fret on top E string, you'll need to play half-steps after 3rd and 6th notes.