Musical Theory Abound!!!
 #94116  by Counterstriker

I've been getting very frustrated lately, I realize how much I don't know what I'm playing, I just remembered the shapes of scales and pretty much just noodle around until I find something that sounds cool.. I can barely read sheet music, I started playing piano when I was about 9 then switched to guitar at 11 - I'm 17 now, I always thought I could get by without knowing all the theory behind what I was playing, but now more than ever I see the importance of it all. I think I need to start from the beginning to understand it all, I have a guitar teacher but I don't like how she teaches me, I need to see how it's done before I can do it. Are there any good books to learn all the basics? Maybe online courses?

Thanks alot!
 #94117  by strumminsix

It's very important! I just started reading on line! I'd avoid the Jazz lessons at first,
 #94119  by tcsned

If you are still in school, do they offer a theory course? I took 3 years of music theory in high school and that was probably the most valuable classes I took, save an inspiring history teacher. Learning that stuff isn't a lot of fun and learning under pain of failure is the only way I got it. If that isn't available, I'd look into getting a intro to theory texbook for a freshman college class that comes with a workbook. Just reading alone on a webpage is not going to do it unless you do some work and interacting with the information. Writing it out helps to make things sink in. After writing it out, get out your guitar and play through things to transfer the information to your instrument. It takes time and effort but you'll get there if it's something you want to do.

I'd start with finding some simple melody lines and read through them and play them, depending on how well you're reading now, it can be as simple as "Mary had a Little Lamb." Then as you get better move on to more difficult lines and chords and such.
 #94123  by jackr