#47796  by monroe

Hey Now!

I could sure use some help here. I'm fairly new to electric-rock n roll-wailing, etc. But I've been playing bluegrass for many years. So I know all the basics and such. major scales, blues (minor penatonic) scales, CAGED, etc etc. But jamming out a rockin dead tune on electric is a whole different animal than playing a bluegrass break on Salt Creek. I mean, there are lots of things I can take from my bluegrass playing, but there are a lot more possibilities and emotion that can be brought out when playing electric.

So, in venturing into this new territory, I've picked a couple of tunes to get started with. Cumberland Blues and New Minglewood Blues. Both use a minor penatonic scale, and should be a good introduction, as it should be fairly easy to get up and running.

Knowing my scales and such, I can play a mediocre solo over both of these tunes. But, what I can come up with isn't really that interesting, and evokes the emotion that jerry and the boys can do. In fact my pllaying is kind of boring. I'd like to get some of that Jerry sound into my playing. I don't want to attempt to be a jerry clone, but I'd like to have some of his vocabulary and licks available to spruce up my playing. I'd like to be able to get the emotion out of the guitar that he did, or well, at least work toward that. I'm hoping you fellas can help me out with that.

I've tried to listen to various live versions, and pick up some stuff, and I have gotten a few basics, but many times, it just moves too quick for me to get it. If you guys could post a few tabs (an accompanying audio file would be awesome!) with some common licks, runs, passages and such that Jerry would use in these two songs, I think it would go a long way toward getting me and other beginners like myself kick started.