#64930  by JohnLocke

Hi guys. I have been playing guitar for about 8 months now and loving every second of it. This has always been one of my favorite songs and I was so excited to see that the chords used are ones I already know. My problem is I can't hear the strumming pattern on the cd, there are so many layers all I can hear is the melody. I tried to youtube people playing acoustic covers of it and I can't hear past the vocals. I think it is D,DU,UDU for the verses but it just doesn't feel right. If any one can help with the verses/chorus part I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks
 #65016  by GratefulPat

ive never even attempted this song, but becuz im in akind mood today, ill post a video on youtube of it in the next 12 or so hours. should be fun for me too since i love this one but ive never bothered to learn it, all i know from listening that there is alot of chords haha
 #65087  by JohnLocke

Thanks alot man. Really nice of you to upload that. You confirmed my belief about two things: 1) the strum pattern is the one I was thinking of and 2)The strum pattern I worte is only for the basic verses! There are too many rest / different patterns, ect. for me to figure out on my own (although you did a pretty good job), looks like I'll have to break down and buy the sheet music for it. But at least it'll come with a bunch of Dead songs.
 #65089  by strumminsix

Seems like that song is one of many that into the category of gotta know it to play it, can't fake it.

Nice vid, GP!

Some quick things:
Song is in G, likely solo scale D mixo
The solo chords are the:
G Am Em
Just a box of rain, wind and water,
etc...
 #65097  by JohnLocke