#145473  by Brandon Bowlds

Hi, I am new to this forum and this is my first post so I thought I would introduce myself. My name is Brandon Bowlds. I am sales manager at Willcutt Guitars in Lexington, Ky. I am a guitarist and banjo player mostly, but I do play bass in a Central Ky Dead tribute band named Born Cross Eyed. We have a pretty fun band and Dino English from DSO plays drums with us when he is not on the road.

Thought I would share my new guitar that Matt Artinger is building for me. It is Wolf inspired but definitely its own thing. Trying to decide what SCs to put in it. I love jerry tone, but I can't do middle humbuckers so going a different route. Any suggestions are welcome. Even considered making my own little split Dual Sounds. Thinking about the Wald buffer, not sure if I want a OBEL though. I do use a true bypass loop with my pedal board and a volume pedal so not sure if I need it. Somebody talk me into it, lol.

Last edited by Brandon Bowlds on Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 #145475  by gr8fullfred

I have recently acquired an Ibanez Musician Jerrified with buffer and effects loop.

The buffered effects loop is the way to go, with out a doubt. There are two advantages to the buffered effects loop:

1) The volume control (now called the master volume control) actually works as a volume control, where as before the tone was drastically altered by the volume control. Now the volume control works as it should without massive tone altering effects.

2)With the effects loop engaged you now have a volume control that works on your post effected sound. This is really great, such as when kicking in the distortion. Now you can control the volume of the guitar with the distortion. Without the effects loop and master volume, you could turn down the input to the distortion box, but this is not the same as having control of the volume level after the distortion box. Likewise with the envelope filter, or other effects.