#71478  by jkstraw

I am having an issue trying to match up a pair of K-120s. My first purchase was a mismatched pair - 8, 16 ohms.

Today I picked up another 8 ohm. I just finished checking them out with my multimeter and got some unexpected results. I am new to all of this so I was hoping to get some input from someone who is a little more educated on such things :-)

Multimeter was set to range/scale of 200 (can't get any smaller). Here were the results:

Speaker A: 6
Speaker B: 5.4
Speaker C: 13.3

My thought is: A and B are my 8 ohm speakers. C is my 16 ohm

Very confused because all the speakers are labeled K-120 8 ohm....and one has "E-120" in black marker. I am not sure how to tell if any of them have been reconed or what affect this would have (i.e. why someone would label one a E-120?)

Here are some pics: http://picasaweb.google.ca/jkstraw/JBLK120#

Thanks for any tips.
 #71480  by hogan

you're right about the ohmage for each speaker.
The one labeled e120 is probably a recone. I believe that you can only get e/120 recone kits for the k and d series speakers these days. That's not to say that there aren't k and recone kits available. They are all old stock though.
 #71487  by jkstraw

Thanks guys,

A couple follow up questions if you don't mind....

How would a speaker originally rated at 8 ohms end up measuring 16? i.e. what has been replaced from the original?

I'll find this one out myself but.......how does the e-120 recone kit affect the sound of the K-120?

Thanks again!
 #71499  by SarnoMusicSolutions

If an 8-ohm speaker is measuring closer to 16, then it's probably a recone. Speaker "impedance" is based on AC measurements at certain audio frequencies. When we hook up an ohm-meter, that's DC resistance and while a close approximation to "impedance" (AC resistance), it's not the same. Most 8-ohm speakers will measure from 5.5 Ohms to 6.5 Ohms. A 16 ohm speaker may measure as low as 11 Ohms on a DC ohm-meter.