#134348  by Deadhead710

Well this is my very first post on this site, I actually just signed up today so here it goes!

First of all a little background, I am 18 and a Dead Head, due to the influence of my father who attended 30+ concerts of The Dead, sadly he just passed away a few weeks ago and I inherited all of his Dead tapes. I absolutely love them and really would like to listen to them, the only thing is that he was somewhat paranoid about playing the tapes because he was worried they could break. Well I would like to transfer them to a CD, the only thing is I have no idea what I am doing since I have no experience with anything like this.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated, and would be willing to send copies of some of the CD's that I get out of the process.

Stay Dead! :smile:
 #134350  by ccw3432

Really sorry to hear about your father. If it were me I would play the tapes as is if you have a decent quality tape deck. If you don't have one, I would think you should be able to pick up a used one for cheap these days. I still play my tapes from time to time. Sure it's possible the player could eat one, but unlikely if you use a decent tape deck and make sure the tape is not unraveled prior to playing it. There's something special about hearing these shows from an analog cassette, before the days of digital.

As far as transferring them to CD, you could do that. I considered doing that with my tape collection but with the digital world you'll get better quality recordings by getting into the digital trading if you're interested in that. If so, send me a personal message with your address and I'll be glad to send you a few nice soundboard CDs to get you started, or check out archive.org for some good streaming of Dead shows.
 #134356  by rugger

Good advice above. The only thing I will add is that if you are going to play them in a deck, make sure the heads are clean--easy to do with a q-tip and some isopropyl alcohol.

john in san diego