#55838  by gdtrfb2

As a musician myself, the more I think of DSO and what it "does", the more it confuses and angers. If I, let's just say, looked almost exactly like Brad Pitt and devoted my life (and career) to imitating his every move, manner of speaking, walk, etc., then I charged people to come and see me perform some real-Pitt stuff, should I be compensating Brad Pitt himself? How am I being creative in ANY way whatsoever? What if I had a talent to paint exactly like Jerry Garcia - Should I be able to profit off of "my" paintings? Music, art, acting - All of these professions require a born-with talent and personal creativity that absolutely no one else has the right to mimmick..And get paid for it!

I have seen a LOT of cover bands, hell, even well-known, famous acts (the Grateful Dead, ie) cover other people's work, but they make the songs their own on stage...But a band of admitedly talented musicians copying not only songs but equipment set-ups, mannerisms, stance...? Are you kidding me? With Garcia, et. al., this world saw six of the most talented, creative,and unique individuals ever. Now DSO makes a living off merely copying what THEY, someone else did. I can't honestly think of anything weirder yet so widely accepted. Do these guys pay the Dead royalties? I hear their shows aren't exactly inexpensive to attend...Now, if DSO was simply playing for free, imitating a band they love, that's terrific - More power to 'em. But aren't their shows costing people $25+? Once again, I am taken aback.

Don't get me wrong. I would love to be able to go back in time and see a dozen of my favorite shows, even dozens of them; but I can't. Period. But seeing a bunch of musicians copying those shows is even worse in my opinion.

So, I was interested in seeing if anyone out there shares my views on this subject - Let me know...
 #55839  by Chuckles

Well...

Seeing as people are willing to shell out the $ to see 'em

and that members of the Dead have played with them